Pianist : New to Guitars, but not to Music.

registered
2017 03 31
1 posts

Hello my name is Karl Williams and I am 44 years old. At the age of 5, I started playing Piano, learned how to play Piano, Organ, and transitioned to using synthesizers. I took Piano lessons long ago but not much to progress my ability to read standard notation. However, it didn't stop me from playing. I compose music using MIDI using my keyboard via computer software. I play manually as well on my synthesizer. Now I want to learn Guitar, I recently purchased a 6-string electric solid body Ibanez, amp, and Boss Pedals - and I am learning chords as a beginner. My current biggest problem is strengthening the muscles in my 3 and 4th fingers to stretch to the strings I want to play. Other problems are that because Piano is my first instrument - I know where key notes are by the order and location of black and white keys on a piano, however on a guitar no such thing exists - it has to be memorized completely and the fingering numbering is different for the left hand - #1 begins with the index finger, not the thumb as for pianists ( keyboardists). I am also interested in knowing where on a piano, where each string string range is ( since you have 2 octaves for each string ) - in standard tuning for guitars. Where does EBGDAE string ranges exist on a keyboard, what octave, and relation to middle C? - so I if I compose a tune on my keyboard I would know if its in the boundary of my guitar's range. I can not afford a guitar instructor so I am learning this on my own - as I did with the Piano. Ive been quite successful with that instrument, but the Guitar is a different thing. So thats why I am here as a beginning Guitar player. I also need some information on music theory as well.

registered
2006 11 03
1,149 posts

A 'quick & dirty' answer (but probably not exactly the answer you were looking for) is to go by the FREQUENCIES of the guitar strings:

E6 = 82.407 Hz = bass-string
A5 = 110.00 Hz